Tel : 450 436-1779 | 1 800 663-1779
Bumblebee

Bumblebee

Description:
The queen is the longest measuring between 17 mm and 25mm long, the worker is between 6 mm and 25 mm long and finally, the male measures 10 mm and 17 mm long. The drone has a hairy body colors with distinctive black stripes and yellow stripes on the abdomen.

Alimentation:
The bumblebee is an insect vegetarian. The adult bumblebee feeds on nectar, honey and pollen. The larvae feed on pollen and nectar mixture, which is called bee bread.

Habit:
Bumblebees form new colonies each year. Only young fertilized queens overwinter. They come early spring to seek a suitable place to nest, a dark cavity of 2 inches by 3 inches, generally, it will be in the ground like a mouse hole abandoned.

Reproduction:
The queen and male mating flight (spin), the queen will then lay up at the end of his days. The start laying queen with 8 to 10 eggs that will sustain itself, then when the nest contains sterile workers, the queen will attend exclusively to spawn until late summer.

Tel : 450 436-1779 | 1 800 663-1779
Bourdon

Bourdon

Description:
La reine qui est la plus longue mesure entre 17 mm et 25mm de long, l’ouvrière mesure entre 6 mm et 25 mm de long et finalement, le mâle mesure entre 10 mm et 17 mm de long. Le bourdon a un corps velu avec les couleurs distinctives de bandes noires et bandes jaunes sur l’abdomen.

Alimentation:
Le bourdon est un insecte végétarien. Le bourdon adulte se nourrit de nectar, de miel et de pollen. La larve se nourrit de pollen et de nectar un mélange qui porte le nom de pain d’abeille.

Habitude:
Les bourdons forment de nouvelles colonies chaque année. Seules les jeunes reines fécondées passent l’hiver. Elles sortent tôt printemps pour se cherche un endroit approprié pour faire son nid, une cavité sombre de 2 pouces par 3 pouces, généralement, ce sera dans le sol, comme un trou de souris abandonné.

Reproduction:
La reine et les mâles s’accouplent en vol (essaimage), la reine se met ensuite à pondre jusqu’à la fin de ses jours. La reine début la ponte avec 8 à 10 œufs qu’elle va entretenir elle-même, ensuite quand le nid contient des ouvrières stériles, la reine va s’occuper exclusivement de pondre jusqu’à la fin de l’été.