Tel : 450 436-1779 | 1 800 663-1779
Meadow Vole

Meadow Vole

Description:
The meadow vole is a small rodent measuring 16 cm and weighing approximately 50 grams. Its body is long and cylindrical and covered with hair brown or dark gray, its tail is shorter than body, its snout is rounded and the ears are small and partially hidden in his coat.

Alimentation:
The meadow vole is a rodent herbivore, so he eats grass like turf. When grass is scarce, it can also feed on Bark of tree seed.

Habit:
As its name suggests, the meadow vole live in the field or fields where grass is plentiful. In the spring, he digs a hole to make its nest with bits of dried grass. In winter, it is just the tunnels under the snow but above the ground, which often gives the impression that the ground was plowed when the snow melts in spring.

Reproduction:
On average, the female gives birth to 5 young per litter and can have between 1 to 5 litters in her lifetime is quite short, on average 154 days. This life is short because it is hunted by many predators.

Tel : 450 436-1779 | 1 800 663-1779
Campagnol des champs

Campagnol des champs

Description:
Le campagnol des champs est un petit rongeur mesurant 16 cm et pesant près de 50 grammes. Son corps est long et cylindrique et couvert de poil de couleur brun ou gris foncé, sa queue est plus petite que sont corps, son museau est arrondit et ses oreilles sont petites et partiellement enfouies dans son pelage.

Alimentation:
Le campagnol des champs est un rongeur herbivore, donc il se nourrit d’herbe comme le gazon. Quand l’herbe se fait rare, il peut aussi se nourrir d’écore d’arbre et de graine.

Habitude:
Comme son nom l’indique, le campagnol des champs vit dans les champs ou terrain où l’herbe est abondante. Au printemps, il se creuse un terrier pour y faire son nid avec des bouts d’herbe sèche. L’hiver, il se fait des tunnels tout juste sous la neige, mais au-dessus du sol, ce qui donne souvent l’impression que le sol a été labouré quand la neige fond au printemps.

Reproduction:
En moyenne, la femelle met bas à 5 petits par portée et peut avoir entre 1 à 5 portées durant sa vie qui est assez courte, en moyenne 154 jours. Cette vie courte est dû au fait qu’elle est chassé par beaucoup de prédateur.